Geological Survey Department (GSD) is an institution within the Ministry of Mining. It was established in 1922 by Nyasaland Protectorate under the British Colonial Government with the aim of conducting regional geological mapping and exploration of groundwater resources. The groundwater component was delinked to the Ministry responsible for water. The GSD has evolved a lot as currently is a national research centre which does systematic geoscientific investigations that among others, include geohazards assessment which supports the implementation of development plan prevention policies. The Department has its headquarters in Zomba and Regional Offices in Lilongwe and Mzuzu.


To collect, assess, disseminate and archive all geoscientific data related to geology and minerals resources of the country.